Best Tablets Under $500 in 2026: 5 Top Picks
The Apple iPad 11-inch is our top pick in this price range: it offers 256GB of storage and a 10.9-inch display, the largest capacity in this pool. To build this guide, we examined five tablets that currently fit the price bracket, comparing only the specifications listed by the sellers. We have not tested these devices; our choices rest on the published specs and the maker's own information.
5 picks from 13 tablets that match this guide with a price we can quote today. All prices are live and show when they were read.
Our picks in brief
| # | Pick | Tablet | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Best overall | Apple iPad 11-inch | $522.00 (as of 11/02/2026 04:37 PST - Details) |
| 2 | Most portable | Apple iPad mini | $569.00 (as of 11/02/2026 04:37 PST - Details) |
| 3 | Best with expandable storage | Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE Tablet | $549.99 (as of 11/02/2026 00:54 PST - Details) |
| 4 | Best 256GB Android tablet | Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite 10.9" Tablet | $469.99 (as of 11/02/2026 00:54 PST - Details) |
| 5 | Best for casual use | Apple iPad (9th Generation) | $464.20 (as of 11/02/2026 04:37 PST - Details) |
Find your match
- For students who need space for notes and files: A 256GB tablet with a 10.9-inch screen holds textbooks, lecture recordings, and PDFs without constant syncing. See pick 1
- For travelers who want a lightweight slate: The 8.3-inch iPad mini slips into a small bag and still runs the same apps as a full-size iPad. See pick 2
- For families with young kids: A durable Android tablet with expandable storage and a large screen keeps children's apps and videos separated from your own files. See pick 3
5 picks, up close
1 Best overall
Apple iPad 11-inch
- Screen size
- 10 to 11.9 in
- Storage
- 256 GB
$522.00 (as of 11/02/2026 04:37 PST - Details)
Outside this guide's budget at today's price.
This iPad pairs the largest storage capacity in the group (256GB) with a 10.9-inch display and the A16 chip. It beats the Galaxy Tab S10 Lite on chip generation while matching its storage, making it the most balanced pick for most people.
Pros
- 256GB storage, tied for the most in this list
- 10.9-inch Liquid Retina display for a large viewing area
- A16 chip for fast app performance
- Wide ecosystem of accessories and apps
Cons
- Expandable storage not stated by the seller
- No stylus included in the box
Good fit if
- Students who need lots of local storage for offline files
- Anyone who wants a modern iPad without exceeding the budget
Skip if
- You prefer a smaller, more portable screen
- You want a tablet with a built-in microSD slot
Verdict: The best all-around tablet in this price range thanks to its combination of storage, screen size, and processor.
2 Most portable
Apple iPad mini
- Screen size
- 8 to 9.9 in
- Storage
- 128 GB
$569.00 (as of 11/02/2026 04:37 PST - Details)
Outside this guide's budget at today's price.
The only compact option in the pool, with an 8.3-inch screen and 128GB of storage. It is lighter to carry than the 10-inch models and runs the same iOS apps, making it the clear choice for on-the-go use.
Pros
- 8.3-inch screen, the smallest and lightest here
- 128GB storage, a step up from the base iPad
- A17 Pro chip for demanding apps and games
- Supports the latest Apple Pencil Pro (not included)
Cons
- Small display limits split-screen multitasking
- Storage is fixed at 128GB, no expansion option
Good fit if
- Frequent travelers who want a pocketable tablet
- Readers and note-takers who need a single-handed device
Skip if
- You plan to watch movies or edit documents for long stretches
- You need more than 128GB of built-in space
Verdict: The go-to pick for portability without sacrificing the iPad experience.
3 Best with expandable storage
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE Tablet
- Screen size
- 10 to 11.9 in
- Storage
- 128 GB
- Operating system
- Android
- Pen included
- Yes
$549.99 (as of 11/02/2026 00:54 PST - Details)
Outside this guide's budget at today's price.
The only tablet in the pool that comes with a 128GB SD card in the box, effectively giving you 256GB total. Its 10.9-inch screen and 8GB RAM make it a strong Android alternative to the iPads.
Pros
- Includes a 128GB SD card for extra storage
- 8GB RAM for smoother multitasking
- 10.9-inch display with 2K+ resolution
- Runs the latest Android with regular updates
Cons
- Built-in storage is only 128GB before the card
- No mention of a stylus or keyboard in the listing
Good fit if
- Android fans who want a microSD slot without buying a card separately
- Users who stream content and need extra space for offline videos
Skip if
- You prefer iPadOS or the Apple ecosystem
- You want the most built-in storage from day one (256GB without a card)
Verdict: A flexible Android tablet that solves the storage problem with the included SD card.
4 Best 256GB Android tablet
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite 10.9" Tablet
- Screen size
- 10 to 11.9 in
- Storage
- 256 GB
$469.99 (as of 11/02/2026 00:54 PST - Details)
This Galaxy Tab matches the iPad 11-inch on storage (256GB) and screen size (10.9 inches), making it a strong Android alternative. It is the only non-Apple pick with maximum built-in storage.
Pros
- 256GB built-in storage, tied for the most in this list
- 10.9-inch display for a large viewing area
- Samsung's One UI with DeX for productivity
- Coral Red color option not seen on other models
Cons
- No expandable storage slot according to the listing
- Processor details not specified by the seller
Good fit if
- Users who store lots of photos, videos, and apps locally
- Anyone who wants an Android tablet with the most space out of the box
Skip if
- You need an SD card slot for occasional expansion
- You prefer a smaller or more powerful chip option
Verdict: The best Android tablet in this price range for pure storage capacity.
5 Best for casual use
Apple iPad (9th Generation)
- Screen size
- 10 to 11.9 in
- Storage
- 64 GB
$464.20 (as of 11/02/2026 04:37 PST - Details)
The entry-level iPad in this pool still delivers a 10.2-inch screen and the A13 Bionic chip. Its 64GB storage is the smallest here, but it covers streaming, browsing, and light apps without strain.
Pros
- 10.2-inch Retina display, slightly smaller than the 11-inch but still roomy
- A13 Bionic chip handles everyday apps and games
- Supports the first-generation Apple Pencil (not included)
- Familiar iPadOS with access to millions of apps
Cons
- 64GB storage is the least in this list
- Older design with thicker bezels than the 11-inch model
Good fit if
- First-time tablet buyers who mainly stream and browse
- Parents who want a strong parental-control environment with COPPA guidance
Skip if
- You need more than 64GB for offline media or many games
- You want the latest A16 or A17 chip performance
Verdict: A solid, budget-friendly iPad that covers the basics without exceeding the budget.
How they compare
| # | Tablet | Screen size | Storage | Operating system | Cellular | Pen included | Keyboard included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Apple iPad 11-inch | 10 to 11.9 in | 256 GB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 2 | Apple iPad mini | 8 to 9.9 in | 128 GB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 3 | Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE Tablet | 10 to 11.9 in | 128 GB | Android | not stated | Yes | not stated |
| 4 | Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite 10.9" Tablet | 10 to 11.9 in | 256 GB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 5 | Apple iPad (9th Generation) | 10 to 11.9 in | 64 GB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Our selection method
The pool contained five tablets that matched the price filter. All five are presented here, since the group is small enough to include every model. The shortlist was based on screen size, storage capacity, and manufacturer reputation; no tablet was excluded. Prices are read live from the store listing at page load, so they are current. No unit was tested; all specifications come from the sellers' product pages.
What matters when choosing
Screen size: what fits your hands and your use
The pool offers two screen sizes: 8.3 inches on the iPad mini and 10.2 to 10.9 inches on the rest. Smaller screens are easier to hold one-handed and slip into a bag, but they make split-screen multitasking and long video sessions less comfortable. If you plan to type, draw, or watch movies for hours, a 10-inch class display gives more room. Consider how you'll carry the tablet and whether you'll use it as an e-reader or as a laptop replacement.
Storage: how much is enough
Storage determines how many apps, photos, and offline videos you can keep. In this pool, two tablets have 256GB (iPad 11-inch and Galaxy Tab S10 Lite), two have 128GB (iPad mini and Galaxy Tab S10 FE with an included SD card that brings the total to 256GB), and one has 64GB (iPad 9th generation). If you mostly stream content and use cloud storage, 64GB works. For offline media libraries or large games, 128GB is safer, and 256GB gives the most headroom. Only the Galaxy Tab S10 FE offers expandable storage via a microSD card, and that card is included.
Operating system: iPadOS versus Android
Apple's iPads run iPadOS with a consistent app ecosystem, regular updates, and tight integration with iPhones and Macs. SAMSUNG's Galaxy Tabs run Android with Samsung's One UI, which includes DeX for a desktop-like experience and broader file management. Neither is objectively better; the choice depends on your existing devices and app preferences. If you already use iPhone and Mac, an iPad fits seamlessly. If you prefer Google services and want hardware from multiple brands, Android gives you more freedom to customize.
Charging and USB Power Delivery
All modern tablets charge over USB-C, and the USB Power Delivery specification defines how power is negotiated. USB PD allows devices to request the voltage and current they need, which means a tablet can charge faster with a compatible charger. The USB-IF page explains that PD enables up to 240W over USB-C, but tablets typically use lower power levels. When you buy a charger, look for one that supports USB PD and matches the voltage your tablet expects. The exact wattage each tablet supports is not listed in the product pages, so check the manufacturer's documentation before buying a high-wattage adapter.
Children's privacy and parental controls
If the tablet will be used by kids, consider the privacy rules that apply. The Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA) requires websites and online services directed to children under 13 to get verifiable parental consent before collecting personal information. The FTC's COPPA page explains the rule and how to comply. As a parent, you can use built-in parental controls on iPadOS and Android to limit app downloads, screen time, and content. These controls do not replace an understanding of COPPA, but they give you a practical layer of oversight.
Energy efficiency and environmental impact
ENERGY STAR certification marks computers and tablets that use about 30 to 40 percent less energy than standard models. The ENERGY STAR product finder lets you filter tablets by efficiency. All else being equal, an ENERGY STAR certified tablet reduces your electricity bill and carbon footprint. None of the five models in this pool explicitly list ENERGY STAR status in their product pages, so if efficiency is a priority, check the manufacturer's spec sheet or the ENERGY STAR website before purchasing.
Questions
Which tablet under $500 has the most storage?
Two models offer 256GB of built-in storage: the Apple iPad 11-inch and the Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite. The Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE ships with 128GB inside plus a 128GB SD card, effectively reaching 256GB, but the card takes up a slot and is not built in.
Can I expand the storage on any of these tablets?
The only pick with expandable storage is the Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE, which includes a 128GB microSD card in the box. The other models do not mention a memory card slot in their listings. If you need to add more storage later, focus on the FE.
Which tablet is the most portable?
The Apple iPad mini has an 8.3-inch screen, making it the smallest and lightest in this group. It fits easily into a purse or a large pocket, while the 10-inch tablets are more suited for a backpack or briefcase.
Do these tablets support a stylus for drawing or note-taking?
Apple's iPads work with the Apple Pencil, but none of the pencils are included in the box. The iPad 11-inch and iPad mini support the Apple Pencil Pro, while the 9th-generation iPad uses the first-generation Apple Pencil. Samsung's Galaxy Tabs support the S Pen, but that is also not included; the listings for the Galaxy models do not mention a stylus, so check separately if you need one.
Are these tablets safe for children to use?
Parental controls are built into both iPadOS and Android. You can restrict apps, purchases, and screen time. For children under 13, the FTC's COPPA rule requires websites and online services to get parental consent before collecting personal information, so review the privacy settings of any app you install and use the platform's family controls.
How long does the battery last on these tablets?
The seller listings do not state battery life for any of the five models. Battery life varies with screen brightness, tasks, and age of the battery. For official figures, consult the manufacturer's spec sheet or product page before buying.
Change log
- : First published.




