WikiTablet
Menu

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Read the disclosure ›

Best Tablets Under $400 in 2026: 12 Picks Compared on Specs

The top pick under $400 is the Apple iPad 11-inch with the A16 chip, because it pairs 128GB of storage with an 11-inch Liquid Retina display while several rivals list 64GB. This guide compares 12 tablets chosen from the specifications in their current store listings. The picks are based on what the makers and sellers state, not on our own use, so every claim below can be checked against a listing.

12 picks from 35 tablets that match this guide with a price we can quote today. All prices are live and show when they were read.

Our picks in brief

Find your match

  • For students who take notes: If note-taking is the main job, the Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite includes the S-Pen in the box and states 128GB of storage, with a 10.9-inch 90Hz LCD named in the listing. See pick 2
  • For an Apple household: If your other devices are Apple products, the Apple iPad 11-inch is the only iPad in this pool, with 128GB of storage and an 11-inch display. See pick 1
  • For a big-screen family tablet: If you want the largest screen and cellular connectivity, the Blackview tablet is the only pool entry with a screen over 12 inches and 5G listed in its specs. See pick 6
  • For media on a 3.2K screen: If streaming and gaming visuals matter more than brand, the Xiaomi Pad 7 AI lists a 3.2K 144Hz screen and 256GB of storage. See pick 4

12 picks, up close

1 Best overall

Apple iPad 11-inch

Apple iPad 11-inch

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
128 GB

$427.00 (as of 11/02/2026 04:37 PST - Details)

Outside this guide's budget at today's price.

View on Amazon

The only iPad in this pool, and it offers 128GB of storage, which is more storage than the four entries in this pool that list 64GB. The listing names the A16 chip, an 11-inch Liquid Retina display, Wi-Fi 6, and 12MP front and back cameras. For an Apple tablet under $400, this is the clearest spec-based choice.

Pros

  • 128GB of storage, more than the four 64GB entries in this pool
  • A16 chip and Wi-Fi 6 named in the listing
  • 12MP front and 12MP back cameras stated in the listing name
  • 11-inch Liquid Retina display named in the listing

Cons

  • No stylus support stated in the pool entry
  • No cellular option stated in the pool entry
  • Refresh rate and battery capacity not stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Apple households that want a current entry iPad
  • Buyers who want 128GB without moving to a 256GB Android tablet

Skip if

  • Android users who expect a stylus in the box
  • Buyers who need cellular data on the tablet

Verdict: The Apple iPad 11-inch is the best overall pick in this price band on specs: 128GB of storage, an 11-inch Liquid Retina display, and the A16 chip named in the listing.

2 Best Android tablet

SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab S10 Lite with S-Pen | 128GB

SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab S10 Lite with S-Pen | 128GB

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
128 GB
Operating system
Android
Pen included
Yes

$334.99 (as of 11/02/2026 00:55 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The strongest Android all-rounder in the pool. It lists Android 15, 128GB of storage, a 10.9-inch 90Hz LCD, Wi-Fi 6, and the S-Pen in the box. No other Android entry here combines an included pen, a stated Android version, and 128GB of storage.

Pros

  • S-Pen included, with stylus support in the specs
  • 128GB of storage, one step below the 256GB tier in this pool
  • Android 15 and a 90Hz LCD named in the listing
  • 10.9-inch screen size stated in the listing name

Cons

  • Listing is labeled Wi-Fi Only; no cellular stated
  • 6GB of RAM named in the listing, below the 8GB and 36GB Android entries
  • No battery capacity stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Android users who want a pen included under $400
  • Note-takers who want a current Android version named

Skip if

  • Buyers who need 256GB of storage
  • Apple ecosystem users who want an iPad

Verdict: The Galaxy Tab S10 Lite is the best Android tablet here because it bundles an S-Pen, 128GB of storage, and Android 15 in one listing.

3 Best for note-taking with an included stylus

Lenovo 11" 2.5K AI Tablet with Stylus Pen & Folio Case

Lenovo 11" 2.5K AI Tablet with Stylus Pen & Folio Case

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
256 GB
Operating system
Android
Pen included
Yes

$339.00 (as of 11/01/2026 23:46 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The only pool entry whose listing includes both a stylus pen and a folio case. It also states 256GB of storage, the largest storage tier in this pool, and names 8GB of RAM, Android, a 2.5K resolution, and a 90Hz screen. That makes it the most complete note-taking bundle on specs.

Pros

  • Stylus pen and folio case included per the listing name
  • 256GB of storage in the specs, the largest tier in this pool
  • 8GB of RAM named in the listing, more than several Android entries
  • 2.5K 90Hz display named in the listing

Cons

  • No cellular option stated in the pool entry
  • Exact screen size is not stated in the specs; only the 10-to-11.9-inch range
  • Battery capacity not stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Students who want a stylus and case without buying extras
  • Android users who want 256GB plus SD expansion named in the listing

Skip if

  • Buyers who want an Apple tablet
  • People who need cellular on the go

Verdict: With a pen, folio case, 256GB of storage, and 8GB of RAM in the listing, the Lenovo 11-inch AI Tablet is the best note-taking bundle under $400.

4 Best media screen with 256GB of storage

XIAOMI Pad 7 Ai WiFi Version Global

XIAOMI Pad 7 Ai WiFi Version Global

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
256 GB

$378.19 (as of 11/02/2026 01:50 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The listing states an 11.2-inch 3.2K screen at 144Hz and 256GB of storage, a combination no other entry in this pool matches. It also names four speakers and an 8850mAh battery. For media on paper, this is the best high-refresh screen under $400.

Pros

  • 3.2K resolution and 144Hz refresh rate named in the listing
  • 256GB of storage in the specs, the largest tier in this pool
  • Four speakers and an 8850mAh battery named in the listing
  • 11.2-inch screen size stated in the listing name

Cons

  • Listing says No Calls or Text; no cellular support stated
  • No stylus support stated in the pool entry
  • Operating system not stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Streaming and gaming fans who want a high refresh rate screen
  • Buyers who want 256GB without paying for a pen

Skip if

  • Note-takers who need an included stylus
  • Buyers who rely on cellular connectivity

Verdict: The Xiaomi Pad 7 AI is the pick for media fans: a 3.2K 144Hz screen with 256GB of storage in one listing.

5 Best 144Hz media screen with 128GB of storage

XIAOMI Pad 8 Ai WiFi Version Global

XIAOMI Pad 8 Ai WiFi Version Global

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
128 GB

$375.00 (as of 11/02/2026 01:50 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The second Xiaomi 3.2K 144Hz entry in this pool. It lists 128GB of storage rather than the Pad 7's 256GB, and its listing names a larger 9200mAh battery plus four speakers. If the extra storage is not essential, this is the same screen experience at the 128GB tier.

Pros

  • 3.2K resolution and 144Hz refresh rate named in the listing
  • 9200mAh battery named in the listing, above the Pad 7's 8850mAh
  • 128GB of storage in the specs
  • Four speakers and a 13MP camera named in the listing

Cons

  • 128GB of storage, below the Pad 7's 256GB in this pool
  • Listing says No Calls or Text; no cellular support stated
  • No stylus support stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Media buyers who prefer the larger stated battery over extra storage
  • Xiaomi users who want the 3.2K 144Hz screen at the 128GB tier

Skip if

  • Buyers who need 256GB of storage
  • Apple ecosystem households

Verdict: The Xiaomi Pad 8 AI offers the same 3.2K 144Hz screen as the Pad 7 with less storage and a larger named battery.

6 Best large-screen tablet with 5G

Blackview Android 16 Tablet with 36GB RAM + 256GB ROM

Blackview Android 16 Tablet with 36GB RAM + 256GB ROM

Screen size
12 in or more
Storage
256 GB
Operating system
Android
Cellular
Yes

$269.99 (as of 11/02/2026 06:37 PST - Details)

Outside this guide's budget at today's price.

View on Amazon

The only pool entry with a screen in the 12-inch-or-more class and the only one with cellular listed in its specs. The name also states 5G, 36GB of RAM, 256GB of storage, and dual cameras. It is the pick to examine first for a big Android tablet that works away from Wi-Fi.

Pros

  • 13-inch screen named in the listing, the largest in this pool
  • 5G cellular support stated in the specs and listing name
  • 36GB of RAM named in the listing, the largest figure among these Android picks
  • 256GB of storage in the specs, plus 2TB TF expansion named in the listing

Cons

  • No stylus support stated in the pool entry
  • Operating system listed as Android with no version stated
  • Display resolution and refresh rate not stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Buyers who need a big tablet that connects on 5G
  • Android users who want 36GB of RAM and 256GB of storage

Skip if

  • People who want a compact 10-inch tablet
  • Note-takers who need a stylus in the box

Verdict: The Blackview Android 16 Tablet is the only large-screen, 5G, 256GB pick in this pool, making it the best choice for cellular Android users.

7 Best Samsung pick with 256GB of storage

Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ 8GB RAM

Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ 8GB RAM

Storage
256 GB

$379.99 (as of 11/02/2026 00:54 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The only Samsung entry in the pool with 256GB of storage in its specs. The listing name also states 8GB of RAM and AI Assist. If you want a Samsung Android tablet with the largest storage tier here and no stylus, this is the match.

Pros

  • 256GB of storage in the specs, the largest Samsung storage figure in this pool
  • 8GB of RAM named in the listing, more than the 6GB on the Tab S10 Lite
  • AI Assist named in the listing
  • Slim and light design named in the listing

Cons

  • Screen size not stated in the pool entry
  • No stylus support stated in the pool entry
  • Display resolution and refresh rate not stated

Good fit if

  • Samsung Android users who want 256GB of storage
  • Buyers who want a slim tablet with AI features named by the seller

Skip if

  • Note-takers who need an S Pen
  • Buyers who want a stated screen size before buying

Verdict: The Galaxy Tab A11+ is the Samsung pick with the most storage in this pool at 256GB, though its screen size is not stated by the seller.

8 Best starter Android tablet

SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab A9+ 11 inch 64GB Android Tablet

SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab A9+ 11 inch 64GB Android Tablet

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
64 GB
Operating system
Android

View on Amazon

The most basic Samsung Android entry in the pool: 64GB of storage, an 11-inch-class screen, and Android in the specs. The listing name adds quad speakers, an upgraded chipset, and multi-window display. It is the simplest pick if you want the essentials in this price band.

Pros

  • Android listed in the specs
  • 64GB of storage for a base configuration
  • Quad speakers and multi-window display named in the listing
  • 11-inch screen size stated in the listing name

Cons

  • 64GB of storage, the smallest tier in this pool
  • No stylus support stated in the pool entry
  • No cellular option stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • First-time tablet buyers who want a Samsung Android tablet
  • Media viewers who want quad speakers at the 64GB tier

Skip if

  • Buyers who need more than 64GB of storage
  • Note-takers who want an included pen

Verdict: The Galaxy Tab A9+ is the best starter Android pick: an 11-inch Samsung tablet with quad speakers and 64GB of storage.

9 Best HONOR tablet for basic media

HONOR Pad X8a 11 Inch 64GB ROM + 4GB RAM WiFi + Bluetooth Tablet

HONOR Pad X8a 11 Inch 64GB ROM + 4GB RAM WiFi + Bluetooth Tablet

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
64 GB

$365.00 (as of 11/01/2026 23:19 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The only HONOR entry in the pool. The specs state an 11-inch-class screen and 64GB of storage, and the listing name adds 4GB of RAM, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth. It is a simple media and browsing tablet if you want the HONOR model at the 64GB tier.

Pros

  • 11-inch screen stated in the listing name and 10-to-11.9 inches in specs
  • 64GB of storage in the specs
  • 4GB of RAM named in the listing
  • International version described in the listing name

Cons

  • 64GB of storage, the smallest tier in this pool
  • No stylus support stated in the pool entry
  • Operating system not stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a HONOR tablet with a stated 11-inch screen
  • Basic browsing and media users who accept 64GB

Skip if

  • Users who need a stylus or cellular
  • Buyers who want more than 64GB of storage

Verdict: The HONOR Pad X8a is a straightforward 11-inch media tablet at 64GB, the only HONOR pick in this pool.

10 Best S Pen tablet for Android drawing

Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4" 64GB Android Tablet

Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4" 64GB Android Tablet

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
64 GB
Operating system
Android
Pen included
Yes

View on Amazon

This S6 Lite listing includes the S Pen, lists Android in the specs, and states a 10-to-11.9-inch screen with 64GB of storage. Among the three S6 Lite entries in this pool, it is the most complete because its specs name the operating system, stylus, screen, and storage. For Android drawing under $400, this is the pick.

Pros

  • S Pen included, with stylus support in the specs
  • Android listed in the specs
  • 10.4-inch screen named in the listing and 10-to-11.9 inches in specs
  • Slim metal design and AKG dual speakers named in the listing

Cons

  • 64GB of storage, the smallest tier in this pool
  • No cellular option stated in the pool entry
  • Refresh rate not stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Android artists who want an S Pen without paying more
  • Note-takers who prefer a 10.4-inch form factor

Skip if

  • Buyers who need 128GB or 256GB of storage
  • Users who want a larger screen than 10.4 inches

Verdict: The Galaxy Tab S6 Lite is the best Android drawing pick here because its listing combines the S Pen, Android, and a 10.4-inch screen at 64GB.

11 Best S6 Lite listing with screen and storage stated

Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4"

Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4"

Screen size
10 to 11.9 in
Storage
64 GB
Pen included
Yes

$349.00 (as of 11/02/2026 00:55 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

This second S6 Lite entry states the same 10-to-11.9-inch screen and 64GB of storage in the specs and includes the S Pen. The listing is described as the International Model in Oxford Gray. If the exact model label matters to you, this listing states it clearly.

Pros

  • S Pen included per the listing name and stylus support in specs
  • Screen and storage stated in the specs: 10 to 11.9 inches and 64GB
  • International model identified in the listing name
  • Wi-Fi tablet named in the listing

Cons

  • Operating system not stated in the pool entry
  • 64GB of storage, the smallest tier in this pool
  • No cellular option stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want the S6 Lite with a clearly stated international model label
  • Note-takers who want S Pen support and 64GB

Skip if

  • Users who need Android explicitly stated in the pool specs
  • Buyers who want more storage than 64GB

Verdict: This S6 Lite listing is a duplicate-class pick with the S Pen and 64GB, but the pool entry does not state the operating system.

12 Best S6 Lite listing with processor named

Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4’’ Touchscreen

Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4’’ Touchscreen

Operating system
Android
Pen included
Yes

$349.00 (as of 11/02/2026 00:55 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The third S6 Lite entry names the Exynos 9610 processor, 4GB of RAM, and 64GB of storage in its title, and its specs list Android and pen support. It is the most processor-specific of the three S6 Lite listings, useful if you want the silicon named before buying.

Pros

  • Android and pen support listed in the specs
  • Exynos 9610 processor and 4GB of RAM named in the listing
  • 2000x1200 resolution stated in the listing name
  • S Pen included per the listing name

Cons

  • Screen size and storage not stated in the structured specs; the listing name gives 10.4 inches and 64GB
  • 64GB of storage, the smallest tier in this pool
  • No cellular option stated in the pool entry

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want the processor named in the listing
  • Android note-takers who accept 64GB

Skip if

  • Buyers who want storage confirmed in the structured specs
  • People who need a larger screen than 10.4 inches

Verdict: This S6 Lite listing is best if you want the Exynos 9610 processor named: Android, pen support, and 64GB, with screen size stated only in the title.

How they compare

#TabletScreen sizeStorageOperating systemCellularPen includedKeyboard included
1Apple iPad 11-inch10 to 11.9 in128 GBnot statednot statednot statednot stated
2SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab S10 Lite with S-Pen | 128GB10 to 11.9 in128 GBAndroidnot statedYesnot stated
3Lenovo 11" 2.5K AI Tablet with Stylus Pen & Folio Case10 to 11.9 in256 GBAndroidnot statedYesnot stated
4XIAOMI Pad 7 Ai WiFi Version Global10 to 11.9 in256 GBnot statednot statednot statednot stated
5XIAOMI Pad 8 Ai WiFi Version Global10 to 11.9 in128 GBnot statednot statednot statednot stated
6Blackview Android 16 Tablet with 36GB RAM + 256GB ROM12 in or more256 GBAndroidYesnot statednot stated
7Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ 8GB RAMnot stated256 GBnot statednot statednot statednot stated
8SAMSUNG Galaxy Tab A9+ 11 inch 64GB Android Tablet10 to 11.9 in64 GBAndroidnot statednot statednot stated
9HONOR Pad X8a 11 Inch 64GB ROM + 4GB RAM WiFi + Bluetooth Tablet10 to 11.9 in64 GBnot statednot statednot statednot stated
10Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4" 64GB Android Tablet10 to 11.9 in64 GBAndroidnot statedYesnot stated
11Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4"10 to 11.9 in64 GBnot statednot statedYesnot stated
12Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite 10.4’’ Touchscreennot statednot statedAndroidnot statedYesnot stated

Our selection method

How we picked: the pool began as 16 tablet listings that fit the subject of this guide. After folding listings that pointed to the same product, 12 pool entries remained, and all 12 appear here. We kept every pool entry because there is no category rule that would justify dropping one, and the goal is a broad view of the band. Shortlisting criteria are the specs each listing states: screen size, storage, stylus support, operating system, and cellular. The three Galaxy Tab S6 Lite entries are separate listings of the same base model and are kept because each states different details. The listing values shown beside each pick are read live from the store listing when the page loads, and they can change. Nobody on this site has used these tablets. Claims about screens, storage, and pens come from the pool entries; where a spec is missing, this guide says so.

What matters when choosing

Screen size: what the 10-to-11.9-inch range means

Nine of the 12 tablets in this pool have screens the sellers place in the 10-to-11.9-inch range. That is the usual tablet sweet spot: large enough for video and split-screen apps, small enough to hold in one hand. One entry, the Blackview Android 16 Tablet, is in the 12-inch-or-more class, and two entries do not state a screen size in their structured specs: the Galaxy Tab A11+ and one of the Galaxy Tab S6 Lite listings. When the structured specs give only a range, check the listing name, which often names the precise diagonal in inches.

Storage: 64GB versus 128GB versus 256GB

Storage is the most checkable difference in this pool. Four entries list 64GB, three list 128GB, four list 256GB, and one entry does not state storage in its structured specs. For light browsing and streaming, 64GB can be enough; for games, offline video, and photo editing, the 256GB entries are a safer start. Only the Lenovo listing name mentions both 256GB and SD expansion, and the Blackview name mentions TF expansion to 2TB, so check the listing if you plan to add a memory card.

Stylus support: which picks include a pen

Five of the 12 pool entries list stylus support in their specs: the Lenovo 11-inch AI Tablet, the Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite, and three Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite listings. The Lenovo name includes a stylus pen and a folio case, while the Samsung names say the S Pen is included. The Apple iPad entry does not state pen support in its pool entry, and the Xiaomi, Blackview, HONOR, Galaxy Tab A11+, and Galaxy Tab A9+ entries do not either. If handwritten notes or drawing matter, start with the five pen-equipped picks and compare their storage.

Cellular: how to read Wi-Fi-only listings

Only the Blackview Android 16 Tablet lists cellular in its specs, with 5G named in the listing name. Several other entries describe themselves as Wi-Fi only or as versions without calls and text: the Galaxy Tab S10 Lite is labeled Wi-Fi Only, and both Xiaomi entries say No Calls or Text. If you need the tablet to connect on its own outside the home, those listings will not do it. A phone hotspot can fill the gap, but a tablet with its own cellular radio is a different product, so decide this before comparing screens and storage.

Android, Apple, and listings that do not state the OS

Six of the 12 entries list Android in their structured specs. The Apple iPad is identified by brand and listing name, and several entries do not state an operating system in the structured specs, including the HONOR Pad X8a, the two Xiaomi Pads, and the Galaxy Tab A11+. Android is an open source operating system, and the Android Open Source Project is where its source code and security work are published, but this guide reports only what each listing states. When the OS is not stated, the guide says so rather than guessing. Android buyers get the wider range of stylus and storage choices here; Apple buyers get a single, clean 128GB iPad.

Power and energy: USB-C charging and ENERGY STAR

Tablets fall inside the computer category covered by the ENERGY STAR program, which says certified computers use about 30-40% less energy than standard models. None of the 12 pool entries state an ENERGY STAR certification, so this guide does not claim any pick is certified. For charging, the USB Power Delivery specification lets a single USB Type-C cable carry both power and data, and devices negotiate how much power they draw. Charger wattage and battery capacity are not stated for most entries here; if those matter, check the maker's spec page.

Questions

What is the best tablet under $400 on specs?

On the specs in this pool, the Apple iPad 11-inch is the best overall pick. It pairs 128GB of storage with an 11-inch Liquid Retina display and the A16 chip named in the listing. If you prefer Android, the Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite is the strongest all-rounder because its listing includes the S-Pen, 128GB of storage, and Android 15. The right choice depends on whether you want Apple's ecosystem or an Android tablet with a pen.

Is 64GB of storage enough on a tablet under $400?

For light browsing, streaming, and note-taking, 64GB can be enough, and four of the 12 picks in this guide list 64GB. Games, offline video libraries, and photo editing fill it much faster. If you want to download a lot of content, the four entries with 256GB are a safer starting point. The Lenovo entry also names SD expansion, and the Blackview name mentions TF expansion, so check the listing if expandable storage matters.

Are there tablets with cellular in this price range?

Yes, one: the Blackview Android 16 Tablet, which lists cellular in its specs and 5G in its listing name. It is also the only entry with a screen in the 12-inch-or-more class. The Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite is labeled Wi-Fi Only, and both Xiaomi entries say No Calls or Text, so those listings cannot connect to mobile networks on their own. If cellular matters, the Blackview is the pick to examine first.

Do any of these tablets come with a stylus?

Five of the 12 pool entries list stylus support in their specs. The Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 Lite includes the S-Pen, the Lenovo 11-inch AI Tablet includes a stylus pen and folio case, and three Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite listings include the S Pen. The Apple iPad entry does not state pen support in its pool entry. If you plan to draw or write by hand, start with those five and compare their storage and screen details.

What does International Version mean on a tablet listing?

When a listing name says International Version, as the HONOR Pad X8a and one Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite listing do, it usually means the model is not the domestic U.S. retail configuration. The pool entry may not state the warranty, supported cellular bands, or included charger. Before buying an international listing, check the seller's stated warranty and any region-specific features. This guide reports only what the listing states, so it treats missing details as not stated.

What should I check before handing a tablet to a child?

The Children's Online Privacy Protection Act gives parents control over what websites and online services can collect from kids under 13, and the FTC publishes guidance on complying with the COPPA rule. Before setting up any tablet for a child, review the apps and accounts you install, use parental controls where available, and check the maker's privacy policies. This guide does not rate the privacy or safety of these tablets; it only reports the specs in the listings.

Change log

  • : First published.

Sources

Other guides to read